Skip to content

First comes love, then comes marriage…

November 29, 2011

I'm doing a "dry" run in preparation for my first official cleanup!

I fell in love with the 700 back in July, and after a few months of bliss, I decided to take the leap– I adopted my bus stop.

In exchange for my promise to keep things clean, Keep Durham Beautiful  provided me with a bright orange swag bag complete with four matching trash grabbers, four volunteer safety vests (two yellow & two orange), work gloves, and a box of Glad ForceFlex trash bags (the preferred brand in my very own home!). Pretty snazzy, right?

 The adoption process was simple. I emailed my completed agreement form to Keep Durham Beautiful and my supplies were ready to pick up a few days later. Now all I have to do to keep up my end of the bargain is clean the stop at least twice a month and report back any graffiti or other problems.
 
I moved to Durham in July of 2008 and feel more at home here than in any other city I’ve lived. I’m proud to have this opportunity to help make things a little more beautiful, and the Adopt A Stop program helps me feel more civically engaged. Plus, they give you grabbers. I mean, who hasn’t always wanted their very own grabber? It’s a win-win.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. shep permalink
    November 30, 2011 10:41 am

    Seriously. I already pick up the trash at the bus stop in front of my house. I might as well get a free grabber out of it…

    • gotrianglebc permalink
      November 30, 2011 10:44 am

      THANK YOU. No one seems to share my enthusiasm about the grabbers!

  2. November 30, 2011 11:07 am

    Great post! Our family feels the same way about Durham and the bus stops we adopted. It’s a great program, for sure.

  3. December 1, 2011 11:35 am

    adorable! + great idea!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,161 other followers

